PEOPLE


(Left to right: Evan, Nico, Li, Eran, Sylvia, Sigi, Eric)


(Left to right: Evan, Li, Eric, Sigi, and Nico. Not on the picture: Sylvia)

Li Zhao :  Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Chinese Academy of Sciences

lzhao@rockefeller.edu

Li is investigating the genetic mechanisms of the origin and spread of de novo genes. She is also interested in the role of spatially varying selection in phenotypic evolution.

Nicolas Svetec: Senior Research Associate

Ph.D. University of Munich

nsvetec@rockefeller.edu

Nico is  an evolutionary geneticist with a particular interest in adaptation. His research activities focus on the physiological and behavioral traits that allow organisms to adapt to new environments.

Junhui Peng

Ph.D. University of Science and Technology of China

jpeng@rockefeller.edu

Junhui is interested in studying the structure, function and evolution of novel proteins encoded by de novo genes.

Evan Witt: Graduate Student

B.S. Washington University in St. Louis

ewitt@rockefeller.edu

Evan is interested in the genomic features that facilitate de novo gene retention, functionalization and co-option into transcriptional networks.

Eric Bo Zheng: Tri-Intstitutional MD-PhD student

B.S. Harvard University

ezheng@rockefeller.edu

Eric is fascinated by the emergence of diverse, complex, yet imperfect, phenomena from evolutionary mechanisms.

Sam Khodursky: Graduate Student

B.S. University of Oxford

skhodursky@rockefeller.edu

Sam is interested in studying the selection and constraints of evolutionary innovation in multiple timescales and between sexes.

Alice Gadau: Graduate Student

B.S. Arizona State University

agadau@rockefeller.edu

Alice interested in Cis-Trans evolutionary contributions to alternate gene expression patterns between different Drosophila species.

Priyanka Lakhiani: Graduate Student

B.S. New York University Abu Dhabi

plakhiani@rockefeller.edu

Priyanka is interested in how genomic innovation contributes to novel, complex phenotypes in the Aedes aegyptimosquito.

Chris Langer

B.A. Vassar college

clanger@rockefeller.edu

Chris is interested in understanding how the structures in proteins contributes to the elusive functions of de novo genes. He also helps us with the fly stocks as well as various projects in the lab.

Xin Yu Zhu Jiang: Undergraduate at Hunter College

xinyu.zhujiang43@myhunter.cuny.edu

Xin Yu is interested in studying the mechanosensory system as well as how genetic variations across Drosophila species affect oviposition preferences.

Eamen Ho: Undergraduate at Hunter College

eamen.ho84@myhunter.cuny.edu

Eamen is interested in studying how gene expression co-rergulation networks evolve and contribute to the complexity of life.